Military Family, Food, & Fitness Fenestrations

Raising the Bar on Personal Expectation

Stock Recipe

I save all the lovely juices and little solid bits produced after cooking in little plastic containers. After 3 days of non-use they go in the freezer, and drive my husband crazy for some reason I am completely unable to understand. In order to keep the peace, I do my best to integrate them into the next day’s dishes, so after Ian went to bed Friday, I made stock with the leftover cooked chicken bones. So easy to make stock, as long as you use some sort of food processor or chopper. These are the ingredients I used this time, but feel free to vary them in accordance with what you have on hand:

Chicken Stock

Leftover Chicken bones or chicken carcass
5 stalks celery – diced
3 carrots – diced
1 hot red pepper (or to taste) – sliced thinly & deseeded
5 cloves garlic, peeled but whole
2 leeks
2 bay leaves
parsley – 4 branches
thyme – 6 branches
a bit of fresh grated pepper
about 4 quarts of water

I use a pressure cooker to cook my stock – it takes 30 minutes opposed to 3-4 hours, and the flavours are better preserved. Drain the stock into freezer-friendly containers, really mashing the solid parts into your sieve to get every last drop of the liquid. I keep chicken stock up to 3 days in the fridge and no longer than 3 months in the freezer (insure you label containers with both the contents and the date).

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

